Auckland Diocese Statutes

Diocesan Statutes
The numbering system for the Diocesan Statutes are for reference purposes only. The numbers have no official standing and are provided only for ease of identification. Statutes are formally identified by their title.

These files require a pdf reader to be viewed. To download a free pdf reader, please visit the Adobe website.
  1. The Interpretation Statute 1929 (Amended 2012)
  2. The Anglican Trusts Board Statute 1989 (Revised)
  3. The Auckland City Mission Statute 2009 (Amended 2011)
  4. The Diocese Of Auckland Bishopric Endowment Trust Statute 1995 (Revised)
  5. The Diocesan Burial Grounds Statute 1999 (Edited 2017)
  6. Cathedral-Statute-2012
  7. The Joint Council For Christian Nurture And Youth Statute 1997 (Amended 2003)
  8. The Diocesan Secretariat Board Statute 1992 (Amended 2013)
  9. The Faculties Statute 1942 (Revised)
  10. Financial Regulations Statute 2000 (Amended 2017)
  11. Elections & General Synod Representation 2010
  12. The General Trust Board Empowering Statute 1927 (Revised)
  13. The Diocesan Loan Board Statute 1937 (Revised)
  14. The Local Reserves And Glebes Statute 1929 (Revised)
  15. The Local Trusts Statute 1927 (Revised)
  16. The Diocesan Committee For Overseas Missions Statute 2003
  17. The Ministry Unit Statute 2013 (Amended 2017)
  18. The Stipends And Pensions Committee Statute 1994 (Amended 2001, 2005, 2010, 2013)
  19. The Archdeaconry Board Statute 2001
  20. The Purewa Cemetery Trust Board Statute 2000
  21. The Standing Committee Statute 2001 (Amended 2010, 2013)
  22. The Standing Orders And Standing Resolutions Statute 1968 (Revised)
  23. The Diocesan Synod Statute 2001 (Amended 2003, 2011, 2017)
  24. Youth Synod Statute 1996 (Amended 2003, 2013)
  25. The Diocesan Insurance Statute 1988
  26. The Licensed Ministry Statute 1999
  27. The Anglican Care Council Statute 2000 (Amended 2005)
Standing Resolutions
Standing Orders 2013

The Canons

The canons are the laws of the Anglican Church of Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia.
They are set by the General Synod.

You can access the canons by clicking here.

Ministry Unit Administration Handbook

The Ministry Unit Administration Handbook is currently unavailable as it is being updated. Please refer instead to the Canons and/or Statutes, however if you have questions regarding Ministry Unit or clergy matters, please contact the Diocesan Office on (09) 302 7201.

Resources For Clergy and Vestry

A reference guide for clergy outlining the statutory general provisions, as well as other policies and approvals relevant to clergy is available upon request. Ministry Units may also find it a helpful resource. Please contact the Diocesan Office for a copy of the Clergy Remuneration Package.



Ministry Units wishing to build, alter or demolish any church, hall, vicarage or other building must obtain a faculty from the Diocesan Bishop for such work. Faculties are also required for the alteration, addition or removal of church ornaments. The faculty petition form the Ministry Unit needs to complete can be found below. All parts of the form need to be completed as per the statutory requirement. Details can be found in The Faculties Statute 1942 (Revised).
Steps are:
1. Fill out the relevant faculty petition form, including the required endorsements and accompanying documentation.
2. When all the above is completed, send the application to Archdeacon to the Northern Region Carole Hughes or Archdeacon to the Southern Region Michael Berry.
3. After the completion of the faculty application form the Archdeacon is required to visit the site and write a report for the Faculty Committee.
The Archdeacon will then consult the Bishop and pass on the application to the Faculty Committee via the Property Manager. The Faculty Committee reviews the petition and makes a recommendation to the Bishop.
Please note that the work being considered must not be commenced until the faculty has been issued.

List of Parishes, LSMUs and Mission Districts by Region